Stress Tips

I’m just a little beyond the mid-semster point, but half the time I’m at my breaking point. It feels like I have too much to do and definitely too little time. Between having several school projects, working on the weekends, and stressing over bills, I feel like I could go crazy. That’s life, it happens and I know I’m not alone. I’ve discovered a few ways that help me destress from the madness.

  1. Ditch the planner! Seriously. I used to love planners, but I found that I couldn’t keep up with them. I used them during the week, but once the weekend hit it would stay in my backpack. I recently discovered a great tool on Google, Google Calendar. You can access it on the laptop AND on your phone. You probably use your phone more than anything. Google Calendar allows you to see your week color-coded and get alerts 10 mins before you penciled in an appointment or assignment.
  2. Sleep! Everyone says that you need 8 hours, which may be true but it’s not always doable when you have SO much to do. I try to get enough sleep, but I’m lazy about my sleep schedule. I set an alert on my phone telling me when to go to bed. When I’m well-rested, I wake up earlier and can get smaller tasks in my day completed. You can eat, pack your bag, check email, and not feel so rushed. You may even leave a little earlier and beat traffic (a MAJOR stressor).
  3. Laugh! Nothing makes me feel better than putting on a mindless show and laughing. My choice? Bob’s Burgers. It’s a show that doesn’t require any thinking or shouting at the TV. The laughing helps take my mind off anything that stresses me out. I typically pop it on after I’ve done everything I needed to do. It’s how I treat myself!
  4. Read! Reading is often noted as a great escape from the world we live in. You meet and follow new characters and explore a whole new life different from yours. You have nothing to worry about (depending on the book). I love celebrity gossip, so if I have some downtime, I like to kick back and engage in the rumor mill.

Eat healthy. Often, when we’re stressed, we don’t eat or we go for the quickest and unhealthiest snacks. This is a habit of mine that I’m trying to break. Last year, I was on a health kick where I ate organic salads and drank only water. I felt so much better about myself and had energy! Just start with changing out the bag of chips for a tasty salad with stuff you like, a few times a week.

I’m still figuring out how to manage my stress but those are just some of my basic tips to help you out! What helps you destress?

 

Leave a Reply

